stitch counter or golf stroke counter or both

April 22, 2007 at 8:51 pm 21 comments

Stich Counter/ Golf Stroke Counter

Every since I started golfing, I’ve always had this homemade stroke counter attached to my golf bag. Just today I was working on a knitting project and was counting the rows with a pen and paper and thought how crazy this was. I could go to the craft store and buy one but why? If it’s good enough to count how many times I hit the sand trap it’s way good enough to count how many more rows to knit. The other bonus is that it attaches to my knitting bag so I always know where it is when I need it.

Entry filed under: knitting. Tags: .

Easy Homemade Thank You Cards knitted baby two tone socks

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marilyn  |  July 12, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Do you have instructions for how to make the counter? It looks like you just thread the yard or braided rope through each bead going in opposite directions. It that all there is to it? Does this keep the beads from slipping until you actually pull them down?

    Reply
  • 2. Dena  |  July 13, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Hi Marilyn-

    You got it! Just thread the string/rope going in the opposite direction in each bead. So starting from the right: enter the bead on the right and exit the bead on the left, enter the next bead on the left and exit on the right. It is really easy as long as you have the right ratio between the string gauge and the beads opening.
    The beauty of this design is that the beads don’t slip in either direction until you move them.

    Best of luck and let me know if you have any other questions.
    Cheers!
    Dena

    Reply
  • 3. sue  |  May 19, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    I am in charge or providing gifts for a ladies day golf tournament and thought that the golf stroke counter would be a grand idea. Do you have a patter for this. Thanks Sue

    Reply
  • 4. heidi  |  July 28, 2008 at 8:36 am

    anyone have instructions on how to make the golf stroke counter? thought it would be a nice gift for the golfers in my life!

    Reply
  • 5. diane  |  September 4, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    If you have a pattern for the bead counter I would appreciate having one.
    Thanks Diane

    Reply
  • 6. Lois  |  October 1, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Do you have the instructions to make the golf counter. My daughter wants me to make one for her for Christmas>

    Reply
  • 7. Katharine Freese  |  November 19, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    I also would like to get the instructions my daughter wants to use them in her S.E. classroom. What I would like is the bigger bead type that you pull down and especially the size ratio of beads to rope material.

    Many Thanks Kathy

    Reply
  • 8. Fiona Mackay  |  December 2, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    As an ageing beginner, I would love to make a bead counter. Any pattern would be really appreciated.Thanks F

    Reply
  • 9. Debbie  |  December 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    I love your stroke counter! I would to have the pattern!
    Thanks Debbie

    Reply
  • 10. Carol Sloan  |  March 1, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Would someone please give me the dimensions of the string I need to use. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 11. BARBARA A. ROBINSON  |  June 25, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    please, send me directions for golf counter..

    Reply
  • 12. Barbara Hamilton  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    May I have your directions for creating your beaded counter? Thanks! I crochet…can we trade patterns? Look forward to hearing from you!

    Reply
  • 13. Barbara Hamilton  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Would you send me the directions for your beaded counter? If you’d like a favorite crochet pattern, I’d be happy to send you one, in appreciation. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 14. Linda Liles  |  July 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    I, too, am a beginning golfer and would like to have this stroke counter pattern – can someone send me a pattern/instructions for making one? Thanks.
    Linda
    jupitoo @ yahoo.com

    Reply
  • 15. Tina  |  October 19, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Has it been determined that instructions for making this counter is available? If so, where or from whom may I obtain it?

    Reply
  • 16. Sue  |  October 25, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I have been everywhere trying to get a pattern for a bead counter. Could you please send me one. I would really appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 17. Tina  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Was a pattern ever provided to anyone? Who do I contact to get direction/pattern?

    Reply
  • 18. Barbara  |  June 25, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    PLEASE send me directions for the bead counter. Curious as to the string dimensions and bead size and how much room do you leave between the beads to move. What a great idea!!! Thanks

    Reply
  • 19. Cindi  |  November 9, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I would love instructions on how to make a golf bead counter. I am a visual learner~need step-by-step instructions and pictures.
    Thanks a bunch!

    Reply
  • 20. B. Stiller  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I made one with 15 and use it to count laps @ gym as 13 laps is a mile. Love it.

    Reply
  • 21. weight loss  |  January 15, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy
    on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


current ribbon tied around my finger…

make a blog book for Bella's first year

try this...

772

More Photos
April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Please spread the word but….

Everyone is encouraged to be inspired by this site, however, all photos are property of syddesigns.com and are under copyright. Do not reproduce without written consent.            

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

