blind wine tasting party

July 30, 2008 at 7:29 am 3 comments

wine party

In recent years my husband has developed a real taste for fine wines. One night we invited a few friends over and ask them to bring a bottle of wine in a paper bag. We ended up with 12 bottles which we assigned a number 1-12. Everyone blindly tasted each and was asked to fill out a scorecard.

SCORECARD:
Oenophile’s Name: (participant name)
Bottle Number: (1-12)
Type: (What type of grape)
Price Range: (circle one of the following)
$0 – $4
$5 – $9
$10 – $14
$15 – $19
$20 – $29
$30 – $39
$40 – $up
Overall Rating: (1-5, 5 being the best) I would share with you my descriptions of the ratings however they are not appropriate for all ages 

We broke up the tasting with 2 rounds of sorbet (scooped with a melon baler) served toothpicks.

I threw a few black sheep into the mix to see if people would notice, wine #4 was MadDog 20/20 and wine #5 was boxed wine. I cleaned out 2 previously used wine bottles and filled them with my 2 ringers so no one would know by looking at them, only tasting them. I forgot how good MadDog tastes.

wine bottles before sorbet sorbet wine bottles after

Entry filed under: favorite things.

oriental coleslaw homemade pesto

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Judith  |  July 30, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I have a suggstion for you. I host many blind wine tasting parties and I have moved beyond the tacky brown paper bags, I can’t think of anything less appealing than tasting $75 wines in a brown paper bag. I found a kit of bags on the internet that is re-usable. The best part is they are green as they can be used over and over again rather than wasting paper bags and causing mo0re trees to be cut down. I bought them here. http://www.amazon.com/b/qid=1217465941?ie=UTF8&me=A1XXQ56A973FSD

    Reply
  • 2. Kim  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    If I know Dena at all, she will be making her own bags in no time.

    Reply
  • 3. Robin  |  August 1, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    this is such a brilliant idea! i will have to try this with friends soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


current ribbon tied around my finger…

make a blog book for Bella's first year

try this...

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Please spread the word but….

Everyone is encouraged to be inspired by this site, however, all photos are property of syddesigns.com and are under copyright. Do not reproduce without written consent.            

