Archive for April 3, 2007

spring gardening: pansies are hard to kill

Pansy Flower Upclose

I’m new to gardening. As a little kid my parents had a garden but I never made any decisions on when or what to plant. My role was limited to anything that required weeding or harvesting. This is the first home we have owned therefore this is the first piece of dirt I’ve had the opportunity to work with and grow things on. Every year I get a little bit wiser and my dirt around my home gets a little more color.

Potted pansies

One of my favorite and most reliable flowers are pansies. The directions are simple: water and lots of sunlight. When the flower starts to droop, prune at the base of the stem to increase the amount of flowering. I haven’t even mentioned the best part…. they are cheap! $2.50 for 6 at my local nursery.

coffee filter in base of terra cotta pot

Tip: Place a coffee filter in the bottom of the pot before dumping the dirt. The coffee filter will plug any drainage holes that there may be, keeping the dirt in the pot and not on your feet.

USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map

gardening suppliesterra cotta potPansies ready to be plantedPotted pansies on the back deck

April 3, 2007 at 3:30 pm Leave a comment


current ribbon tied around my finger…

make a blog book for Bella's first year

try this...

April 2007
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Please spread the word but….

Everyone is encouraged to be inspired by this site, however, all photos are property of syddesigns.com and are under copyright. Do not reproduce without written consent.