Extreme home makeover – craft edition

December 28, 2006 at 6:51 pm 1 comment

craft shelf corner

What can I say, I was a very good girl this year and Santa confirmed it. So good that I have to expand my craft space (poor Matty). So until I get my 600 sq ft craft castle, I’ve got to settle sharing a 150 sq ft room with my husband and my dog. My goodies this year included the Cricut (which I have renamed to Jiminy) and the Xyron Design Runner (renamed Pedro). How do I use the most of my space? Easy, lots and lots of organizers. I refuse to use traditional furniture of my crafting space. My major craft shelf (pictured on the right) is an old kitchen hutch that I found discarded on the side of the road last year. Last night to accommodate my new toys I went to Target and bought a console table to become my new sewing table.

    Tips for staying organized:

  • Understand the size and shape and find unique ways of storing it.
    Store ribbon on a skinny dowel by connecting both sides with clips. This way when you get a new ribbon spool you can add it to either side with ease.

    ribbon
  • Move beyond typical
    Use all different shapes and sizes of containers. Try the following: Mason Jars, wicker baskets, CD crates, record crates, hat boxes, food storage containers or plastic jars.

    craft shelf full view
  • Label EVERYTHING
    If it’s a bag of clothes pins (I made this bag last summer using a kitchen dish cloth) name it CLOTHES PINS, if it’s a CD crate filled with thread & pins, name it THREAD/PINS.

    clothes pin bag wood organizer

Entry filed under: organizing.

knitting for baby traditions

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tastebuddelight  |  January 31, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Hi

    I was searching for info on Kitchen makeovers and happened to come accross your blog entry on home makeovers. Even though it was not what I was looking for, I still found it interesting.

    I like your “Label Everything” idea, I am sure it can come in handy some where 🙂

    Anthony vieira Da Cruz

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


current ribbon tied around my finger…

make a blog book for Bella's first year

try this...

December 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Please spread the word but….

Everyone is encouraged to be inspired by this site, however, all photos are property of syddesigns.com and are under copyright. Do not reproduce without written consent.